First blog post

First blog post

THE MAGIC of GEORGE BERNARD SHAW

I first fell in love with the playwright G Bernard Shaw in 1988 when I awoke one September morning in a frantic panic that felt like a matter of life and death if I did not buy the Times newspaper, I HAD to BUY IT, I knew not why, it made no sense nor reason, for I do not read papers. Having dragged my astounded husband out of his Sunday morning rest bed at 8.am, with an amused but puzzled look on his handsome blue eyed blond haired face that I had loved since I was ten years old and had married when I was 20, he drove me straight to the local news agents. I knew he must have been thinking “I will do anything you wish, but why this, you do not read the papers, but a must is a must”. He accepted I needed to do this as he knows when I get my ‘intuition status’ it means “This thing is really important”.  I rushed into that news agents with my heart a pounding so hard it felt like my chest would burst. Please Please do not have sold out! and there it was, the Times and I dropped the payment onto the counter, rushed out hugging that Times paper and I was in an utter daze. It was very much out of character for me, the so down to earth modern quiet woman who kept her self to herself and in stock in the stiff upper British lip fashion I was accustomed to all my life, quiet and polite never saying boo to a cat. But now I knew my life was being transformed into something beautiful and I was about to change.  When we got home, the Times was burning into me so much that I had thrown it onto the floor and as I did so the room seemed to glow a magnificent brightest yellow sunlight I had ever known.  A crazy situation which felt so natural I went deaf and blind to my surroundings. All my being at that moment was the paper on the floor which had opened onto the Arts Section and there on the fresh crisp page was the most beautiful male face I had ever seen with his loving bright blue/grey eyes some how saying to me ‘YOU HAVE FOUND ME !” I did not realise I was repeatedly saying out loud, “I have found him” for I was mesmerised by that beautiful face. I became aware that my husband was touching my right arm asking me “Found who? What do you mean?” I replied,  “I have no idea, all I know is that here he is at last. I have found him and he is VERY important to me even though I had no idea who he was. The bright light became even brighter as my surroundings became insignificant I was in another dimension.  All that was important to me was that beautiful face of a man called ‘George Bernard Shaw’ born in 1856, died 1950 and he meant the world to me and unbeknownst to me, from that moment he was about to dramatically change my life.

